cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Card, Old Credit

Just Getting Started

New Card, Old Credit

Hi All,

First posting here, it's possible this may have been answered somewhere back in time, but I'm not up for dredging back through ancient history so be kind, pretty please?

So, here's the situation:

1.  I have a World Mastercard with unused credit of over £4,000 on it (balance of x, credit limit x+4,000)

2.  I would like to use that unused credit to get a new Balance Transfer card so I can BT from another bank and save myself interest at 28% or so.

3.  Phoning the Customer Services people I'm told I must apply for the BT card first, then apply for the unused credit limit to be transferred.

4.  Applying online I get refused because the system treats my application as looking for more credit, looks to Experian etc and sees a high credit usage so gives it the big no-no, therefore no BT card, therefore no recycling of my existing credit!

Is there any way round this?  I'm not looking for more credit than I already have, just a reallocation of the existing stuff in order to reduce my overall indebtedness quicker by killing the interest on another card, meaning my payments go to knocking down the balance and not adding to the other banks profits!

An old school bank manager would look at this, see what I was doing and realise it made a lot of sense, is there someone in the Tesco Bank hierarchy with the discretion to make this happen, or am I condemned to chipping away with most of my payments going to interest?

As an aside - the online application states as one of the criteria that you cannot have applied for a card in the last month, the refusal notice says an application will not be accepted for 6 months, which is right?

...... and breathe ......

Anyone?

4 REPLIES
Star Contributor

Re: New Card, Old Credit

Good morning @Kirriepete,

Sometimes Tesco Bank offer promotions on Balance and Money Transfers.